American Beauty

on

Movie: American Beauty

Release Date: September 15, 1999

Director: Sam Mendes

Starring: Kevin Spacey, Annette Bening, Thora Birch, Mena Suvari, Wes Bentley, Allison Janney, Peter Gallagher, Chris Cooper

Personal History: Watched Before

Rating: 10 Oscars out of 10

‘American Beauty’ is one of my favorite movies of all time. Period. It is currently ranked number fifteen on my list of all time favorite, most influential movies. I found it brilliant when I first watched it in 2000, again in 2020 and yet again in 2023. Still brilliant. The acting, directing, cinematography, score and the soundtrack are just impeccable. I could go on and on about how much I love it, but I would rather just share what I wrote about it during my 365 Movie a Day Challenge. Here is the complete unedited version.

From A Movie a Day Keeps the Doctor Away December 17, 2020:

DISCLAIMER – similar to ‘The Usual Suspects’ (see 44. ‘The Usual Suspects): Sometimes “alleged” (that word was used so I don’t get sued) pedophiles, rapists and sex offenders create excellent art. However, I do not in any way, shape or form approve of the past, present or future behavior of Kevin SpaceyHe is a heinous individual (allegedly). All of the compliments he will be getting below are written as if he is not a heinous individual. Trust me, it pains me, but a good movie is still a good movie.

Like yesterday’s film (see 16. Pulp Fiction), ‘American Beauty’ was the movie everyone was talking about the year it was released. It made its theatrical debut at a few festivals before opening wide on September 15, 1999 and was instantly lauded by critics. It was nominated for many awards and honors including eight Academy Awards, winning five. One of those wins was for the coveted Best Picture award. Audiences ate the film up as well. It was a huge commercial success eventually becoming the ninth highest grossing film of that year. Unfortunately it was a movie I had to hear all about without actually seeing until it was released to home media.

I really have zero excuses for why I did not see ‘American Beauty’ in the theaters. In the fall of 1999, I was of course working full time as well as balancing a social life and co-raising my toddler son. I know that I wanted to see the film, I just didn’t. After receiving its Oscar nominations, you would have thought that I would have clamored to see it as I always try to see the Best Picture nominees before the telecast. The Oscars in 2000 were held on my birthday, March 26th. Unfortunately the film was not released for rental until May that same year. So I did not see that year’s winner until two months after it won. But you know I was the first in line at my local Hollywood video store the day it became available.

I fell in love with the movie from its opening words. “My name is Lester Burnham. This is my neighborhood; this is my street; this is my life. I am 42 years old; in less than a year I will be dead. Of course I don’t know that yet, and in a way, I am dead already.” From those few sentences until the end credits started to roll, I don’t think I took one breath. I was completely riveted to the story and its characters. It was such a departure from contemporary dramas of that time and I especially fell in love with that gorgeous script. It also happened to be stunning to look at, those rose petals alone were spectacularly shot. The direction and acting were top notch and I finally knew the reason everyone was talking about the film as well as why it won Best Picture.

In 2001, HBO started promoting a new show called ‘Six Feet Under.’ Part of their promotion was listing it as “from the Academy Award winning writer of ‘American Beauty.’” I was sold with that one simple sentence. The screenplay to that film was so deliciously well done, I knew that I wanted to at least “try out” the new series. I did, and ‘Six Feet Under’ became one of my favorite shows of all time. I eventually owned the entire series on DVD and it hands down has the best finale of any series ever. One of the main reasons why I loved the show so much was the story and how different yet similar it was to ‘American Beauty.’ Both the TV show and the movie remained my favorites thanks to the mind of their writer, Alan Ball.

Like ‘Six Feet Under,’ I also purchased the DVD to ‘American Beauty’ as soon as I possibly could. I collect all of the Best Picture winners anyway, but I knew that this was a movie to own even if it hadn’t won. I shared my love for this movie, like I always do when I love a film that much, with every friend and family member. Most people enjoyed it, but there were a few of those tough critics that “hated it.” There’s always a few in the bunch. For me, the film was fresh, original and beautifully done. Its messages of repression, sexuality, freedom and beauty spoke volumes to me and it’s why it sits at number fifteen on my list of most influential movies of all time.

After shoveling out my son’s car from the thirty-two inches of snow that fell last night, I crawled back into bed with a cup of tea and two holiday cupcakes (that I baked yesterday) to watch ‘American Beauty.’ Both my husband and son were home thanks to the snow, but I needed some nice quiet alone time with the Burnham’s. It’s exactly what I needed.

I have not watched ‘American Beauty’ in almost three years. I was on a boycott of all things Kevin Spacey (see DISCLAIMER above) for quite awhile after his “coming out” and I couldn’t stomach to listen or watch the man. I did the same thing with ‘House of Cards,’ but I eventually finished that series off late last year. I knew the movie would be on my list so I knew this day was eventually coming. And I was okay with it. I have learned to separate the actor with the movie. And I am thankful I came to that conclusion, because I absolutely adore this movie and it was so nice to revisit it again.

‘American Beauty’ is simply a gorgeous film. Beautifully directed by Sam Mendes, the story and characters are so wonderfully weird and yet so tragically real. I was easily sucked into the movie when I first watched it in 2000 and was easily sucked back into it today. I love the screenplay so much. The dialogue and words chosen in this movie are almost poetic and I find myself in awe, waiting for the next syllables to be spoken. This movie is pure cinematic art on every single level. It is truly a modern day classic.

‘American Beauty’ is a grand drama, although I do know many “haters” out there when it comes to the film. And I simply don’t get it. I never will. The movie comes very highly recommended. I get it if you now have an aversion to Mr. Spacey, trust me, I’ve been there. Despite him being pure evil (allegedly), give it a try. I promise you will fall in love with this unforgettable tale just like I did.

Leave a comment